Mattakeese Wharf 

Cape Cod Waterfront Seafood Restaurant 

True waterfront dining on Barnstable Harbor since 1968

273 Millway Road, Barnstable, MA 02630

Reservations: 508-362-4511

CLOSED for

WINTER til

May 4, 2018

 

 

MATTAKEESE WHARF REVIEWS 

 

“Delicious Waterfront Dining and Great Sunsets”

Reviewed  May 2017

We're locals who look forward to visiting the Mattakeese Wharf Restaurant every year.This is a laid back, classic Cape Cod dining experience. The baked stuffed lobster is the best plate of its kind on the Cape, and the desserts are fantastic.

GF options are listed and the staff is knowledgeable about food sensitivities.

 

“Good Food, Great Views”

 

Reviewed May 2017

We arrived mid afternoon for lunch. My friend had the 2 crab cakes and I the clams casino (6 pieces) from the appetizer section of a good menu. We then shared them. The clams casino were marvelous. The crab cakes were good.

We were lucky to get a table right next to the window. We watched fishermen heading out in the misty rain.

Service was prompt, helpful and friendly. The restaurant is attractive, clean and had lots of interesting things to look at along the walls of the entrance area.

 

Dear gods, what a meal !!!!!

Aug 8, 2016 

Tish Moon (10 reviews), Mansfield, Connecticut

I was in absolute love with this restaurant from the moment we walked in... pricey but worth every penny! The steamers were succulent, lobster roll literally the largest we have ever gotten, and the Cape clam chowder really is not to be missed... I can see why it is award-winning! The fact that one is over the water with breezes ruffling one's hair only adds to the experience... you seriously need to visit ASAP. 

 

“Kudos to the new chef!” 

Reviewed Aug. 1, 2016

cfv104

Tewksbury, Massachusetts 

We haven't been to the Mattakeese Wharf Restaurant for quite some time. We had been hearing that there was a new chef and that the food had improved tremendously. So, we had to give it a try. We were NOT disappointed. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was great. I ordered one of the evening specials, salmon. The flavors and creativity of the meal was tremendous. Since they came in first place at this years chowder fest, of course we had to try the clam chowder. It truly was award winning! We will definitely be dining at the Mattakeese again!

 

 

“The review from many visitors...” 

July 17, 2016

Lamb And Lion Inn, Barnstable, MA 

We are the owners of the Lamb and Lion Inn, a property located just 2 miles from beautiful Barnstable Harbor. As innkeepers, our job is to rock our guest's world. We act as concierges and trip planners. For 17 years we have been sending our guests to Mattakeese Wharf, and I will admit, as it is in most tourist destinations--when you're on the water most of the time you're paying for the water, the sunsets, the boat activity, and all the wonderful sensations you enjoy when dining near the water--sadly but almost understandably, the food comes a far second. In Mattakeese Wharf's case you are dining OVER the water, and they do get the best sunsets on the east coast. Has Mattakeese ever been a polished 4-star restaurant? No. That's not who they are. But as innkeepers we have to say that in all of our years here, and always having nice things to say about Mattakeese, THIS year they have stepped things up and our guests have been raving! Their "new" chef Zach--who has been on the sideline for years--has really been "wowing" all our our inn guests. For once in a long time the food is actually taking precedence over the amazing view, and as local hoteliers we could not be happier. In fact, we have hung a "be back soon" sign on the door and have been to Mattakeese Wharf for lunch 3 times this week! We are suckers for their giant Buffalo Shrimp, their burgers are better than ever, their seafood is excellent (at lunch try the fish tacos--some of the best around), and their "famous" Baked Stuffed Lobster is better than ever. Innkeeper Tom is also an award-winning food writer and featured their homemade potato chips in an article for Edible Cape Cod magazine a few years ago--still a killer add-on! We rarely write reviews but we do like to honor those who honor their guests, and in this case, Mattakeese Wharf is working very hard to enhance their customers’ valued time away. Bravo Zach & staff!

 

Tom & Alice, Owners of the Lamb and Lion Inn, Barnstable, Cape Cod

 

 

“Beautiful sunset” - London, England visitor, May 2016

We went there recommended by the owners of the B&B where we were staying. We booked for 7pm and enjoyed our dinner watching the sunset from our table. It is beautiful and the food was also nice for the price (and the portion was huge!). The staff were also attentive and efficient. 

 

“Always very good to excellent … a favorite at sunset” 

Reviewed May 2016

   Service has never been anything less than outstanding, friendly, efficient, non-intrusive wait staff. They just opened for the 2016 season and the entrees were uniformly applauded by our five some. The Pasta Livorna and swordfish specials seem to always be on point. Our one landlubber who ordered chicken cleaned his plate with the free rolls. We love this place. When the weather turns warm, the deck is a favorite at sunset. First come, first serve … reservations accepted, but not for the window seats .. good luck.

 

 

Vickie Matthews

We thought we would try this restaurant based on another Yelp referral and it was spot on! All 4 of us had the baked stuffed lobster and we thought we had died and gone to heaven... If you truly want a special meal this is the place to go! And on the plus side we had a waiter and waitress that were both conscientious and fun to deal with and did not rush us at all. If I could I would give it 10 stars!

 

A year ago

A fantastic evening. The food was superb and if you chose the right night (as we did) you will be treated to a fantastic sunset. The staff are really polite and friendly, probably the best have met in the entire area. This is the place to go for dinner. The lobster and stuffed haddock are superb. WELL DONE.

 

A Zagat User

a year ago

All the food was very good for our party of four on a recent Saturday night. Our local hosts will be coming back soon. Easily beat expectations.

 

A Google User

2 years ago

We went here for lunch on a Wednesday. We got in very easily and had a wonderful table situated in the corner with beautiful views of the harbor. The waitress was very nice but forgot a couple of things-- no big deal though. The chowder was phenomenal! The fish tacos were alright. The quahog was pretty good. Overall, great place if you're looking for a bite to eat in a very quintessential Cape Cod way.

 

A Google User

3 years ago

I dined at Mattakeese for the first time last night (Saturday night) with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. We were all extremely pleased with our view of the sunset. Our server (Janet) was very friendly and had terrific dinner and dessert recommendations. This is definitely a dining establishment we will frequent! A true culinary "gem" on Cape Cod!

 

Visited July 2012

" By far some of the best food we ever have eaten. My girlfriend and I came here for our anniversary and were blown away. Staff was great ,the food was awesome, and the view of the harbor and the sunset was amazing. We live in Westport, MA. Went to the Cape for our anniversary and I googled romantic restaurants. Mattakeese came up as one of the top 5 places on the Cape for a sunset dinner."

 

Visited July 2012

Our entire family was on the Cape from Chicago and had an amazing dinner at Mattakeese on Friday night – the sunset only made it more wonderful. Even the wait staff was hanging out the window taking pictures of it!! Summer in paradise!  

 

Visited August 2011

“Where else can you park your boat at a northside Cape Cod bar?”

Dock your boat after a day at the beach or fishing and belly up to the boat-shaped bar for some delicious cocktails and stuffed quahogs. Great view of the harbor from both the bar and restaurant, watch the whale watcher and tuna boats come in to offload, and chat up the bar patrons for local fishing secrets. Great food and drinks.

 

Visited September 2011

“Lively, great food, fantastic sunset views”

We ate at the Mattakeese Wharf on the recommendation of our B&B hosts, it was Sunday evening of the Labour Day weekend, and the place was packed so reservations are essential.

There was a lively bar area with dance floor and live music, and then a restaurant area with some tables looking out over the water.

The food was excellent, as you would expect fish and seafood a-plenty, but also lots of choice in other areas. The desserts looked incredible, but sadly we couldn't get that far.

Despite being incredibly busy, the service was great, friendly and speedy.

 

Visited June 20, 2010

Outstanding View, Service, & Food! I dined at Mattakeese for the first time last night (Saturday night) with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. We were all extremely pleased with our view of the sunset. Our server (Janet) was very friendly and had terrific dinner and dessert recommendations. This is definitely a dining establishment we will frequent! A true culinary "gem" on Cape Cod!

 

My wife and I frequent the Cape throughout the year due to our close proximity to it. We read about this restaurant last winter in the diners' guide. The review looked really good. Then we saw a review about this place on television. They also had a nice review about them. So we thought we'd give this place a shot on the last day of summer. It turned out to be quite nice. The place was nice and clean. The service was better than most Cape Cod restaurants. The ambiance was excellent. The menu was especially abundant. The prices for most items were ok except the market price for anything with Lobster was 32 dollars and up. A live band was playing which made the atmosphere more lively. I would recommend this place as a preferred Restaurant for dining on the Cape.

Please add your own review on Trip Advisor.

Click the green Trip Advisor button .

Thank you…. and please come again soon!